Baking

New found obsession

Meringues……

Oh my, why has it taken me so long to make these!!!

Firstly they are so easy to make, especially if you have an electric mixer (Cue the love for my kitchen aid).

I got this beauty for my birthday a year ago!
I got this beauty for my birthday a year ago!

And secondly the possibilities with flavourings are amazing, I started off with a coffee flavoured Meringue using ground coffee, unfortunately I didn’t have freshly ground, as the recipe states but still I think they tasted lovely and the noises coming from everyone else when trying them would back me up on that! I hope.

I used a recipe I found here:Β http://www.abouttimemagazine.co.uk/eat/easy-dessert-recipes-coffee-meringues/

Beautiful clouds of crunchy and chewy loveliness..
Beautiful clouds of crunchy and chewy loveliness..
Hmmmmmmm
Hmmmmmmm

So within 2 days I wanted to try something new, so using the recipe for the coffee ones as a base, but altered to make Peppermint and Chocolate Meringues.

These were amazing on the taste buds..
These were amazing on the taste buds..

These tasted like a particular mint flavoured chocolate you would find in the shops – WOW!

For these I used,

  • 3 x Egg whites (Eggs I use are from my dads free range chickens).
  • 170g Caster sugar.
  • 2tsp of peppermint extract (I used Sainsburys taste the difference Peppermint extract).
  • Leaf green gel colouring from Wilton.
  • 200g of chocolate (I used milk, but I think dark would be better).

Mix the egg whites in an electric mixer until soft peaks start to form, then gradually add in your sugar bit by bit slowly whilst the mixer is still going. You will notice that the meringue goes from a bubbly cloud to a cloud thats glossy and thick, keep going until stiff peaks form.

This is when I put in the peppermint extract and after that was mixed through add the colouring to you desire. (My first batch as you can see where very green, my second batch I used less food colouring and attempted a white and green swirled effect, it didn’t work as well as I had hoped, so watch this space)Β 

You can either just dollop amounts of mixture onto a lined baking sheet or pipe on, I piped them on using 1B and 2D tips.

Baked in a 120 degree oven for 1 hour.

Once cooled, melt your chocolate over a pan of boiling water and dip each meringue in as you’d like, or using chocolate to drape over the top, leave to set and enjoy!!

I’m thinking I will try raspberries next?

Have you any suggestions?

xβ™₯x

One thought on “New found obsession

Leave a Reply

