Baking · Cakes · Craft · Decorating · DIY

Always room for improvement…

CAKE

I’ve always loved cake.. Not necessarily making and decorating but eating cake has to be on of the things I’m best at! Who doesn’t love eating cake?

I’m not fussed what form it comes in, birthday cake, wedding cake, cupcakes, cake pops, homemade or shop bought. Although homemade wins every time.

Eating cake is something I don’t need improvement in, but cake decorating is. There is always room for improvement and I know that gradually I am getting better.

So today I thought I would share with you the first birthday cake I made on my own.

It was for my God-Daughter on her 5th birthday.


I was too scared to attempt rolled fondant so smothered the whole thing in buttercream icing instead.

This was 3 years ago! So I honestly believe the saying and that practice does make perfect! I’m not at a level I would consider perfect but I’m getting closer to being really happy with my efforts!

I have great friends and family who are very supportive and sing my praises which makes me feel very proud and as if I am doing something right. And I have to thank my other half Tom for always giving me pep talks when needed, usually when I’m ready to smash entire cakes with my rolling-pin or am so stressed I could cry.

And not forgetting my biggest fan of all my son,Jenson, who wakes up to see my latest cakes and with a smile will tell me how “Booful” it is and how clever I am.

XπŸ’–X

Leave a Reply

