Baking · Cake

My baking fail this past weekend.

These cupcakes were made for my friends baby shower, the final decorated cupcakes will be in my next post.

*This post is sharing the good recipes with yourselves, NOT the failed one!!!*

I thought I’d try out a new chocolate recipe for the cupcakes, BIG mistake… They may have tasted amazing still whilst fresh and warm but they looked an utter disaster!!!

   
I’ve jumped in deeper puddles than these! And they come away completely from the cases. I then read the reviews on this recipe and for every 10 good ones was one saying theirs done exactly what mine have! I have no idea what we were doing so wrong! 

Back to my trusted ole recipe for base cupcakes which I come across a long time ago from Nigella Lawsons site.  
I use this recipe as a base for my cupcakes and add to them, this weekend I went for Chocolate Orange and Double Chocolate.

I Enjoy trying new recipes but they seem to go wrong if I do practice them before the event! 😀

   


I mixed all the ingredients together minus the chocolate chips in my kitchen aid for about 2/3 minutes and once it had all come together smoothly I then folded through the chocolate chips. I used dark chocolate chips but use which ever type you fancy. 

Divide between 12 cases and bake in a preheated oven (180 degrees) for about 20 minutes. I always use my cake tester to ensure the cakes are done- when it comes out clean (other than chocolate from a chip) then they are ready. 

Remove from the oven and allow to cool.

   
 These came out much better! Phew πŸ˜….

Once cool they were covered with this Vanilla Buttercream Icing from Add a Pinch. 
 The Chocolate Orange ones were my favourite! πŸ˜‹

Link me in the comments to your favourite cupcake recipe or your go to one! 

XπŸ’–X

3 thoughts on “My baking fail this past weekend.

  1. I’ve had cupcakes come out of the oven tall and gorgeous, and within a matter of minutes they shrink down to be flat and pulling away from the muffin liners. Internet says it’s the result of too much liquid in the batter and/or too hot oven temperature. Glad your next batch turned out better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

