Books · Children · Reading · Review

Reading list

Ive always been a bit of a book worm! When I was younger it was books like The Secret Garden, The Chronicles of Narnia, Roald Dahl and Beatrix Potter. 

 

One of my favourite books from my childhood was The Butterfly Lion by Michael Morpurgo, which is where my love of Lions came from! The book was gifted to me from my Auntie. 

Synopsis –

“All my life I’ll think of you, I promise I will. I won’t ever forget you”

Bertie rescues an orphaned white lion cub from the African veld. They are inseparable until Bertie is sent to boarding school far away in England and the lion is sold to a circus. Bertie swears that one day they will see one another again, but it is the butterfly lion which ensures that their friendship will never be forgotten.

  

My favourite Author as an adult is Paige Toon. 

Paige writes Chic lit, romantic books and I’ve not come across one I wasn’t hooked on.

Here’s a link to her website

  

The one we fell in love with is Paige’s latest masterpiece. 

Synopsis : 

Phoebe is caught between a rock and a hard place. Settle down and get married, or return to the French Alps to pursue her passion?

Eliza is in love with someone who is no longer hers. In fact, he probably never was… And her dream of becoming a musician seems to be spiralling down the drain.
Rose is out of a job and out of a boyfriend. To make matters worse, she’s been forced to move back in with her mother…
But these very different girls have one thing in common. Angus. The one they fell in love with… 

I’m not going to say anymore as I really hope you read it for yourself! 

My all time favourite book of Paiges is Chasing Daisy! This is the book that introduced me to Paige after I found it in a charity shop! I’ve been through 2 copies!!!

  
Chasing Daisy synopsis –

If you fall too fast.. You might just crash

‘You don’t have to worry about me. I have no intention of getting me my heart broken again.’

Of course, I’m lying. I feel like will is chipping a little piece of it away, day by day. It’s killing me…

Daisy Rogers is in love- and that’s no good thing. It’s not just that her very famous ex is neither out of sight nor out of mind, but that the man of her dreams, William Trust, has a girlfriend – a childhood sweetheart, no less. And as a Formula 1 racing driver, he puts his life at risk every day he goes to work. 

From Melbourne to Monte Carlo, and São Paulo to Singapore, Daisy and her best friend Holly travel the world as hospitality girls on the Grand Prix scene. But with more secrets between them than Pais Hilton has shoes, life promises to be nothing short of a whirlwind.

 – As I say this is my favourite of Paiges books, quite possibly my favourite book full stop. And if chic-lit is your thing your going to love this! 

Her books make me laugh and cry, my other half can agree with that. Paige will sneakily feature familiar characters from one book into another so the lives of her characters can entwine and I LOVE it! Makes you feel like you really know them, and also surprises me and makes me want  to re read the book they were originally in. 

Paige has this amazing book club called The Hidden Paiges follow that link to sign up for them to be emailed to you. This book club brings more of the characters to life with parts of the story being told via someone else as well as competitions and other information. I keep forgetting to change my email as I have them sent to my old email address so usually catchup with it late so sadly have never managed to enter one of the competitions, which can be to have your name featured in a book! How AMAZING would that be!!! 

Another book I have read recently is JoJo Moyes, Me Before You. 
  I discovered this one after seeing the beginning of the trailer for the new film that’s recently come out. I could tell the book was going to be a good one so didn’t watch the whole trailer as I didn’t want any spoilers! Now I’ll wait for the film to be released on DVD as this mumma doesn’t get to the cinema much anymore!

Synopsis –

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.
Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.
What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.


The next book on the list is Always the Bridesmaid by Lindsey Kelk. This was a recent charity shop purchase also.

 

Any suggestions from one book worm to another?? Happy Tuesday you beauties ☀️

  

One thought on “Reading list

Leave a Reply

