Breakfast · Healthy Eating · Homemade · No Bake

Oat, chocolate chip and Chia Seed bars.

A few weeks ago I was on a mission to make healthy treats I could snack on to replace the not so healthy chocolate I could easily devour every evening! 

One of my favourites so far is this Oat and Chia Seed bar. You need to keep it in the fridge or freezer ( I keep mine in the freezer) as they don’t hold together well when warming to room temperature as the coconut oil starts to melt. I’ve had to shield it from the kids as they both seem a little addicted to it! 

  
They are yummy, crunchy, sweet and so so easy to make! If it’s healthy, surely I can eat the whole tray yeah? No? Oh damn it!

That’s the issue I have found, my head tells me it’s healthy so I can eat more- that’s not the idea though now is it!

They are no bake, and a chuck it all in recipe- my favourite. I’ve made this about 4 times now. Once with half peanut butter and half with cashew nut butter πŸ˜‹ yummy!

  I come across the recipe on a Pinterest discovery session. Which led me to Running On Real Rood a blog written by Deryn.   

 View the original recipe post here πŸ‘‰πŸΌ http://runningonrealfood.com/chocolate-chip-chia-seed-granola-bars/#comment-66677

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups quick oats
  • 1/2 cup Natural Peanut Butter
  • 1/2 cup Dairy Free Chocolate Chips
  • 1/4 cup Coconut Oil
  • 1/4 Maple Syrup – I used Honey.
  • 1/4 Chia Seeds

Chuck it all in and give it a good mix. When mixed throughly press into a lined baking tray and place in the freezer for at least 30 minutes! Cut into squares or bars and store in the fridge or freezer, I’ve been storing mine in the freezer. 
It really is that simple! πŸ‘ŒπŸΌAnd they make a great on the go breakfast!

  There are loads of recipes on her blog I’m am planning to try, so I’ll keep you updated.

  

3 thoughts on “Oat, chocolate chip and Chia Seed bars.

Leave a Reply

