Baking · Books · Cake · Cake decorating · Children · Princess

Beatrix Potter Cake

Bunnies, ducks and hedgehogs… Just some of the wonderful animals featured in the Beatirx Potter books.

I adore Beatrix Potter books, when I was younger I had a huge book full of all the stories, I still have that book now. With my little scribble on the first page.

A Beatrix Potter cake I had not yet done.

A little background on this cake. Earlier this year, on my birthday in fact one of my bestest friends had her bambino! A beautiful little girl, Ella. A while later I was given this card:


And of course I said yes! 

I recently stepped up to my fairy godmother duties at Ella’s christening. Technically I am a supporting friend, due to fact I am not christened myself. Supporting friend, special friend, fairy godmother that’s me.


Here’s the little princess in her Cinderella princess dress no less!

Now the main point of this post is obviously to show off this little beauty but also to show you the cake I made for her.


My friends request was for a pink cake, with Jemima Puddle Duck, Mrs Tiggywinkle and the bunnies on it. My original plan was to make each character out of fondant like I did with my Lion King cake. But I really wanted a certain look with this cake, of which I thought printed cake toppers would work best with to create a more beautiful, vintage potter styled cake. So I printed them onto card stock and attached them to bamboo skewers to place into the cake.

This way they could always be kept keepsakes from her special day. I have kept items from 2 of Bunnys cakes, although she is 2 she has had 4 birthday cakes. 

These are her keepsakes, along with pink pearls from her cake smash shoot. Including that cake she’s had 5 cakes!


The wooden effect on the little picket fence was achieved using a impressions mat, I purchased a selection of them from the wish app, I used the cobbled mat along the bottom of the cake to create a path look, this didn’t turn out as well as I’d hoped and sadly the lighting in my dining room in the evening is awful so sadly I did not see the real look of it til the morning, buts it’s still cute. The cake was finished off with a gorgeous bunny ribbon around the board, that I found in Hobbycraft.

Hope you like, do you have a favourite Beatirx Potter story? Mine is probably Peter Rabbit, Jemima puddle Duck, Benjamin Bunny or the Story of the floppsie bunnies oh heck I can’t choose!

Leave a Reply

