Baking · Bride to be · Cake · Cake decorating · Wedding · Wedding cake

Naked wedding cake! 

A few posts back I mentioned I was baking lots, for friends wedding cake. My second ever wedding cake.

It dawned on me today that I hadn’t actually shared with you the finished cake.

And as some of you may already know (If your a new follower hello and welcome) I am not feeling the thrills of cake baking and decorating as I once had! That being said, when I stepped back and looked at the cake all finished I was brimming with pride, better still that the lovely staff at the venue were oooing and ahhing as I was putting it all together, and even posted a picture online on their Instagram page of it which was a huge confidence boost.


This was a naked Vanilla Sponge cake filled with a Italian meringue style vanilla Buttercream and strawberry conserve. The cake was roughly iced at the sides with a more traditional Vanilla Buttercream. Decorated with strawberries and blueberries and a dusting of icing sugar.

There was thin boards under each tier to provide support and all were individually dowelled to provide more stability.

Each tier was stacked, filled and iced and transported on their own and I stacked all three tiers and decorated at the venue. For this reson I changed the day that Bunny went to nursery so that I could decorate cake without small person either trying to eat it, destroy it or destroy herself in the pub. Thank goodness her nursery girls are so amazing.

I wrote myself a list as not to forget anything I needed, I had Cake stand, extra Buttercream, fruit, flask of hot water (for dipping the spatula into and wiping off to make it hot so it smooths the buttercream better), mini spatula, mini spirit level, cocktail sticks (these were used to support the stacked areas of fruit), sieve, icing sugar, clean towel and a clean dishcloth.


I even got to sample a bit when I got home using some leftovers, which I left out overnight so that by the time I got to eat it I could see how well the naked cake would hold up- it was fab. I had used some simple sugar and water syrup and dribbled each layer with that to keep them moist!

The cake travelled about 35 miles to the venue. The bottom tier was seatbelted into the front passenger seat and the other two were stratigically placed in the boot so that they could not move atall. The tiers were 10″, 8″ and 7″ cut down to 6″ because i didnt have the correct tin size.

Hope you like 😍

3 thoughts on “Naked wedding cake! 

Leave a Reply

